desigNYC was formed in 2009 by a group of design leaders in New York who wanted to give back during the depths of the financial crisis. We continue to exist thanks to their vision and commitment.


Rachel Crawford

Executive Director, desigNYC

Edwin Schlossberg

Co-Founder and Board President, desigNYC; President and Principal Designer, ESI Design

Michelle Mullineaux

Co-Founder and Secretary, desigNYC; Vice President, Marketing, Blue State Digital

Wendy Goodman

Co-Founder, desigNYC; Design Editor, New York Magazine

Deborah Berke

Co-Founder, desigNYC; Partner,
Deborah Berke Partners

Allan Forrest

Treasurer, desigNYC;
CFO, Goldman Sachs, Services Division

Mike Strohl

Board of Directors, desigNYC;
Founder, Strohl & Company PR

Jim Druckman

Board of Directors, desigNYC;
President, New York Design Center


Rhea Alexander, Parsons the New School for DesignKaren Auster, President, Auster AgencyMaddy Burke-Vigeland, Principal, GenslerJames Biber, Principal, Biber Architects Lisa Green, Partner, Selldorf Architects Steve Heller, SVAKaren Holm, Vice President, Goldman SachsAndrea Kahn, Founder, DesignCONTENTZack McKown, Principal, Tsao & McKown Architects Eddie Nelms, Wordsearch Mark Randall, Principal, Worldstudio


Paola Antonelli, Curator of Architecture + Design, Museum of Modern ArtKaren Auster, President, Auster AgencySara Bengur, Principal, Sara Bengur InteriorsDeborah Berke, Principal, Deborah Berke & Partners James Biber, Principal, Biber Architects Maddy Burke-Vigeland, Partner, Gensler Wendy Goodman, Design Editor, New York Magazine Steven Heller, Co-Chair MFA Programs, SVA Zack McKown, Principal, Tsao & McKown Architects Gabriela Mirensky, Partner, Alfalfa StudioMichelle Mullineaux, Marketing Director, Blue State DigitalMargie Ruddick, Principal, Margie Ruddick LandscapeEdwin Schlossberg, President & Principal Designer, ESI Design Lauren Yarmuth, Principal, YRG Sustainability Consultants